Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Celeste Cerna looking to pass during a home match
Senior Celeste Cerna was an All-Academic selection in her final season, one of 16 Athenas honored

CMS Women's Water Polo Places 16 on ACWPC All-Academic Teams

CLAREMONT, Calif. - The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's water polo team had 16 of its student-athletes earn a spot on one of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches All-Academic teams, the organization announced today.

The Athenas also compiled a 3.61 team grade point average, which ranked as the fifth-best in the country among the 62 institutions honored by the ACWPC. Salem University was first with a 3.84, followed by Fresno State with a 3.71.

Four CMS student-athletes earned ACWPC All-Academic Outstanding distinction, which requires a GPA of 3.71 or higher.  Junior Anna Fry, sophomores Emily McElroy and Ruth Efe, and first-year Isabel Dhillon each earned the highest academic honor from the ACWPC for their performance in the classroom over the 2019-20 academic year. 

The Athenas had nine members of the team who earned ACWPC All-Academic Superior status. Senior Celeste Cerna, juniors Chandlyr Denaro and Katharine Larsen, sophomores Veronica Show, Maddy Menard, and Ayla Huhn, and first-years Jessi Beyer, Mihika Desouza, and Christina Kulick were each bestowed with All-Academic Superior honors. 

Three CMS players brought home ACWPC All-Academic Excellent awards, giving the program a final tally of 16 honorees in all. Junior Amelia Ayala and sophomores Jessica Salaz and Natalie Clark rounded out the 16 winners from the program with All-Academic Excellent distinction. 

A total of 15 of the 16 award winners will also be returning next year, as CMS will look to challenge for the SCIAC title after having its 2020 season cut short due to the coronavirus pandemic. The Athenas were ranked No. 4 in the nation in Division III at the abrupt conclusion of the spring season in March.  

To view the complete ACWPC All-Academic teams, head to the following link:

ACWPC All-Academic Teams