Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
CMS lacrosse team shot

Athenas Earn 2022 IWLCA Academic Honor Squad Distinction

CLAREMONT, Calif. - The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's lacrosse program earned Academic Honor Squad distinction from the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association, while seven members of the Athenas were chosen to the IWLCA Honor Roll, the organization announced today.

Earning spots on the IWLCA Honor Roll, which is open to juniors, seniors and graduate students with a GPA of 3.50 or higher, were Olivia Carey, Annie Cave, Aly Gallagher, Macie Gruver, Emme McMullen, Abby Parrish and Alex Wilson. Carey and McMullen added IWLCA Honor Roll distinction to their IWLCA First-Team All-West Region honors on the field, while Wilson graduated this year with All-SCIAC distinction. 

As a team, the Athenas easily qualified as an IWLCA Academic Honor Squad, which is given to teams which posted a 3.2 or higher team GPA for the academic year.

CMS had a successful season on the field as well, finishing with a 14-6 record and qualifying for the NCAA Division III Tournament for the fourth straight year it competed. The Athenas advanced to the second round with a 22-6 win over George Fox, marking the program's first NCAA victory since defeating Redlands in 2011.

To view the complete list of IWLCA Academic honors, visit the organization's website at the link below:

Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association