Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Anderson Breazeale at the NCAA Championships (photo by Josh Brown)
Anderson Breazeale at the NCAA Championships (photo by Josh Brown)

Six Stags Earn CSCAA Scholar All-America Honors

CLAREMONT, Calif. - Six members of the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's swimming and diving team earned spots on the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America teams, the organization announced today.

To qualify for First-Team Scholar All-America, student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.5 or higher and participated in their national championship. Second-Team selections must have also earned a 3.5 GPA or higher and met a "B" time standard for the national championship or qualified for a diving zone qualification meet.

Four Stags earned their way onto the first team after participating in the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships in Greensboro, North Carolina: Frank Applebaum, Anderson Breazeale, Theo Johnson and Dylan KruegerHenrik Barck and Bennet Matazzoni earned positions on the second team. 

Applebaum, a PPE major at Claremont McKenna, was an All-American in the 100 fly (third) and 200 fly (second) and was a two-time national champion in his career. Breazeale, an economics major at Claremont McKenna, earned second-team All-America honors in the 200 free and 200 back, and also competed in the 500 free. Theo Johnson and Dylan Krueger, who both major in economics at CMC, were part of second-team All-America freestyle relay teams, with Johnson competing on the 200 free relay team and Krueger on both the 200 free and 400 free relays. 

Barck earned a "B" cut in the 400 IM at the SCIAC Championships, when he earned all-league honors with a third-place finish (as well as a second-place finish in the 200 back), and majors in  mathematics at Harvey Mudd. Matazzoni is a computer science major at Harvey Mudd, and competed in the NCAA diving regionals at Trinity (Texas).