Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Walter Limm swimming the breaststroke
Walter Limm was one of the seven Stags to earn Scholar All-America honors

11 Stags Honored on CSCAA Scholar All-America Teams

CLAREMONT, Calif. - A total of 11 members of the CMS men's swimming and diving team earned selections to the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America Scholar All-America teams, the organization announced this afternoon.

All seven members of the Stags who earned qualifications to the NCAA Division III Championships also earned their way on to the CSCAA Scholar-America first team, which requires at least a 3.5 grade point average in 2019-20 in addition to qualifying for nationals. Seniors Kendall Hollimon and Sam Willett, juniors Andreas Roeseler and Marco Conati, sophomore Walter Limm and first-years Anderson Breazeale and Nathan Luis added Scholar All-America distinction to their All-America honors, which were given to all NCAA qualifiers after the Division III Championships were canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

In addition to the seven first-team selections, four other members of the Stags were named to the CSCAA Honorable Mention Scholar All-American team, which requires an NCAA "B" cut time. Senior Ben Culberson earned a spot in his final collegiate season, while juniors Sean Hoerger and Abel Sapirstein and sophomore Matthew Waddell also captured honorable mention distinction. 

The CMS men's swimming and diving program also earned Scholar All-America Team honors from the CSCAA last week for its high aggregate team grade point average. Four of the Stags who earned first-team honors attend Claremont McKenna, while three (Conati, Luis, Roeseler) attend Harvey Mudd, while three of the four CMS honorable mention selections (Hoerger, Sapirstein, Waddell) were Mudders.

CMS finished the 2019-20 season ranked No. 11 in the nation after narrowly edging out Pomona-Pitzer for the SCIAC Championship in February. 

To view the complete Scholar All-America teams, go to the following link:

CSCAA Scholar All-Americans