Bim Jollymour Named One of Five Finalists for Dave Williams Award

Bim Jollymour with the 2016 national championship trophy
Bim Jollymour with the 2016 national championship trophy

CLAREMONT, Calif. - Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's golf coach Bim Jollymour was named one of the five finalists for the NCAA Division III Dave Williams Award, it was announced today by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NCAA Division III men's golf. Jollymour was joined by Jim Ott (Illinois Wesleyan), Dan Rodgers (Carnegie Mellon), Dave Schreyer (Huntingdon) and John Sjoberg (Emory) on the list of five finalists for this year's honor. 

Jollymour led a CMS team that won three of its four events this season. The Stags began the year with an impressive victory at the Bulldog Invitational hosted by Redlands on Sept. 21-22, finishing with a three-round 847 (-17), a winning margin of 21 strokes. CMS then added a win at the Embry Riddle Invitatonal on Oct. 7-8 in Prescott, Arizona, earning a three-round 856 (+4) to win by 17 strokes over a field made up of several scholarship programs. 

In the spring, a shorthanded CMS team finished fifth at the Coyote Classic hosted by CSU San Bernardino, but bounced back to win its third event of the year, taking SCIAC #1 by 14 strokes with a two-round 584. 

Jollymour also had the Stags out to a great start despite not having his full line-up for any of the four tournaments. CMS won the Embry-Riddle Invitational without 2019 All-American Ken Kong and 2019 SCIAC Player of the Year Mason Chiu playing. Harrison Brenner earned individual medalist honors at Embry Riddle to come out of the fall season ranked No. 5 in the nation by GolfStat, but then didn't play in either of the spring tournaments. 

Jollymour has completed 19 seasons as the head coach of the CMS men's golf program. He led the Stags to the 2016 Division III national championship, the first national title in program history, and has coached two individual national champions as well in Tain Lee (2010) and Brad Shigezawa (2013), while Alex Wrenn was a close runner-up in 2016 after tying for first after 72 holes.