Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lauren Yamagami prepares to hit a forehand
Lauren Yamagami was part of a senior class of five Athenas who all made the ITA Scholar-Athlete Team

CMS Women's Tennis Places 13 on ITA Scholar-Athlete Team

CLAREMONT, Calif. - The No. 1-ranked Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's tennis team had just as much success in the classroom as it did on the court this season, placing a total of 13 players on the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's Scholar-Athlete Team, given to student-athletes with a 3.5 GPA or higher during the 2019-20 academic year.

CMS also earned All-Academic Team honors from the ITA for having an aggregate team grade point average over a 3.2 during the past two semesters. 

Leading the way for the Athenas was their senior class, which had all five of its members earn Scholar-Athlete status. Catherine Allen, Anastasia Bryan-Ajania, Madison Shea, Nicole Tan and Lauren Yamagami each capped off their senior years with a spot on the ITA Scholar-Athlete list. It was the fourth year in a row of making the list for Tan, who was also a first-team CoSIDA Academic All-America selection and a SCIAC nominee for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. Allen, meanwhile, ended her senior year ranked No. 1 in the nation in doubles and No. 2 in singles and earned All-America honors seven times in her four years (four in singles, three in doubles). 

Junior Rebecca Berger, sophomores Sarah Bahsoun, Crystal Juan, Sydney Lee, Georgia Tuckerman and Devon Wolfe, and first-years Gabby Lee and Justine Leong were also honored by the ITA. Leong ended her rookie campaign ranked No. 1 in the nation in singles after winning the ITA Cup in the fall, and was named the ITA National Rookie of the Year. 

On the court, CMS ended the year with a perfect 14-0 record and a No. 1 national ranking when spring sports were suspended in March. The Athenas moved up to No. 1 in the rankings by winning the ITA Indoor Nationals with a 5-4 victory over Emory in the championship match, the first ITA Indoor title in program history. 

To view a complete list of the ITA Scholar-Athlete winners, head to the following link:

ITA Academic Awards