Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Meilan Uyeno (r) and Alexis Romero (l) earned All-SCIAC in the one-meter dive
Meilan Uyeno (r) and Alexis Romero (l) earned All-SCIAC in the one-meter dive

CMS Women's Swim and Dive Takes Narrow Lead After First Day of SCIAC Championships

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's swimming and diving team set a new program record in the 200-yard medley, earning second place on the first day of the 2024 SCIAC Swimming and Diving Championships at East Los Angeles College.

With three events in the books, CMS holds a 31-point lead over Pomona-Pitzer (139-108), thanks in part to a 47-0 advantage in the one-meter dive. Pomona-Pitzer opted not to have any scoring divers into the competition in order to enter more scoring swimmers later in the meet, and stands in third place temporarily behind Occidental (116) as well, despite winning the first two relays.  

Meilan Uyeno finished second and Alexis Romero third to each earn All-SCIAC honors for the Athenas, with Uyeno less than four points behind champion Sydney Patterson of Redlands (446.35 points to 442.45), earning CMS 17 points. Romero was third with 430.80 points to earn 16 points for the Athenas, and Anna Zeren added a fifth-place finish with 399.25 points for 14 points. 

The 200-yard medley relay team broke the CMS record with a time of 1:42.91, passing the old mark of 1:43.09 that had stood for 14 years, since the 2010 team set it at the NCAA Championships. The Athenas were just over one second behind Pomona-Pitzer (1:41.79) and over two and a half seconds ahead of third-place Chapman (1:45.59).

The 800-yard freestyle relay team of Sun Young Byun, Allison Nguyen, Corley Smith and Katy Shaw added an All-SCIAC performance with another second-place finish for the Athenas to cap off the evening, earning a time of 7:36.04.

The second day of the SCIAC Championships will get underway at 9 a.m. tomorrow with prelims for the 500-yard freestyle, the 50-yard freestyle and the 200-yard IM, with the finals taking place at 5:30 p.m., along with the 200-yard freestyle relay. Shaw is the defending champion in the 500 free, and the top seed this year, while Mackenzie Mayfield is the top seed in the 200 IM.