Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Mackeznie Mayfield won the 100 breast and contributed to two relay wins.
Mackeznie Mayfield won the 100 breast and contributed to two relay wins.

CMS Women's Swim and Dive Sweeps Two SCIAC Opponents

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif. - The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's swimming and diving team won 14 of 16 events as it dominated a tri-meet with Cal Lutheran and La Verne on Saturday to close out the SCIAC regular season.

With the two wins, the Athenas finish the regular season with a 7-1 league record, as they gear up for the SCIAC Championships in just over two weeks. 

CMS dominated the diving boards, finishing 1-4 in both events. Emma Ng Pack won the 1-meter (293.30 points), followed by Makenna Parkinson, Alexis Romero and Izzy Doud. Parkinson took the 3-meter with 275.80 points, followed by Ng Pack, Doud and Romero.

In the pool, dual winners for the Athenas included Katy Shaw, who swept the 500 and the 1000 with times of 5;12.54 and 10:48.27, respectively. Sun Young Byun, who won the SCIAC Swimmer of the Week with three wins the last time the Athenas competed, took first in the 100 back (59.53) and 100 fly (58.16), while contributing to both relay wins. Augusta Lewis took both the 400 IM (4:30.05) and the 200 breast (2:20.75). 

Anna Werts won the 200 back in 2:11.46 to join Byun's 100 win in helping CMS sweep the two events, while Annie Johnson took the 200 fly in 2:07.92 to join Byun's 100 for a butterfly sweep. Mackenzie Mayfield took the 100 breast to pair with Lewis' 200 win to give the Athenas a 2-for-2 in the breaststroke.

Madeleine Kan was the 50 free winning in 25.33, with Lexi Punishill coming in second and Ally Rudolph third. Ella Blake, Punishill, Mayfield and Byun were part of the winning 400-yard freestyle relay that capped the event in 3:37.43, while Jameson Mitchum, Mayfield, Byun and Rudolph opened with a 200-yard medley win. 

CMS will be back in action next weekend for the CMS Invitational on Saturday at Axelrood Pool, which will also be Senior Day for the Class of 2023.