Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Makenna Parkinson took first in the one-meter
Makenna Parkinson took first in the one-meter

CMS Women's Swim and Dive Defeats La Verne and Cal Lutheran in SCIAC Tri-Meet

LA VERNE, Calif. - Twelve different Athenas won individual events, with only two-time defending SCIAC Swimmer of the Year Augusta Lewis winning two, as the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's swimming and diving team easily defeated Cal Lutheran and La Verne to cap of the 2022 SCIAC regular season on Saturday afternoon at Las Flores Park. 

The Athenas began the meet by earning the top five times in the 200-yard medley relay, with Mischa Brown, Rachel Wander, Katelyn Dang and Natalia Orbach-Mandel winning the friendly battle over their fellow Athenas by .31 (1:53.46 to 1:53.77). 

Leila El Masri took the 1000 in the first individual race of the day, finishing in 11:05.94. Sammy Ennis and Lewis took the 100 back and 100 breast, respectively, Annie Johnson won the 200 fly by over 20 seconds, and Ella Blake earned a win in the 50 free to cap the first half of the meet. 

Allyson Yao was the winner in the 100 free, Anna Werts took the 200 back, Lewis won the 200 breast, and Gracey Hiebert captured first place in the 500 free. Emily Warner captured the 100 fly, and Kelly Prawira was first in the 200 IM

CMS also had two different divers earn diving victories, with Makenna Parkinson earning first in the one-meter with 257.05 points, and Emma Ng Pack winning the three meter in 293.15. 

The meet finished with Lewis, Blake, Warner and Suzanne Starzyk capturing the 200 free relay, as Starzyk became the 17th different CMS athlete with a first-place finish. 

The Athenas will be back in action next week for the Pomona-Pitzer Invitational, before taking part in the SCIAC Championships, with diving being held on Feb. 12-13 and swimming taking place from Feb. 16-19.