Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Advik Mareedu (l) and Ian Freer (r)
Advik Mareedu (l) and Ian Freer (r)

Mareedu Earns First-Team Academic All-America Honors for CMS Men's Tennis, Freer on Third Team

CLAREMONT, Calif. - Sophomore Advik Mareedu earned Division III Men's Tennis First-Team Academic All-America honors from the College Sports Communicators, while Ian Freer earned a spot on the third team, the organization announced today.

The Academic All-America program recognizes student-athletes who combine athletic success with high academic achievement, and Mareedu (No. 1 singles, No. 2 doubles) and Freer (No. 2 singles, No. 1 doubles) both played on the top lines for CMS while leading the Stags to a No. 1 ranking and a spot in the national championship match.

Mareedu earned his second straight All-America selection in singles by winning the ITA West Regionals in the fall. He was ranked No. 2 in the nation heading into the postseason, and defeated the No. 1 player (Tristan Bradley of Bowdoin) in three sets in the NCAA Semifinals for the clinching point in a 5-4 win. 

Freer was an All-America selection in doubles as a freshman in 2020, and was part of a doubles team with Matthew Robinson that qualified for nationals this year. Their tiebreaker win against Tufts in the NCAA Quarterfinals was pivotal in a 5-3 win that advanced the Stags through to the national championship match. 

In the classroom, both carry high GPAs with Mareedu majoring in computer science at Harvey Mudd, and Freer an economics and data science major at Claremont McKenna. They have been honored on both the SCIAC All-Academic and the ITA Scholar-Athlete teams.

CMS finished the year with a 29-4 overall record, including a 25-match win streak that carried the Stags to SCIAC regular season and postseason titles, and NCAA Regional title, and into the national championship match. 

Mareedu and Freer become the sixth and seventh CMS student-athletes to earn Academic All-America honors this academic year, joining Alisha Chulani and Lindsay Eisenman of the CMS women's tennis team, who earned it yesterday. Frank Applebaum (men's swim and dive) and Josh Angle (men's basketball) earned it in the winter season, while Georgia McGovern (volleyball) was honored in the fall.