Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
CMS Men's Tennis Advances to Regional Final with 5-0 Win over UC Santa Cruz

CMS Men's Tennis Advances to Regional Final with 5-0 Win over UC Santa Cruz

CLAREMONT, Calif. - The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's tennis team opened up its NCAA Tournament with a quick 5-0 win over UC Santa Cruz to advance through to the regional finals on Saturday morning at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center.

The win was the 22nd in a row for the Stags, who improve to 26-3 on the year, and will meet Redlands in the regional finals, one week after defeating the Bulldogs 5-0 to win the SCIAC Championships. UC Santa Cruz finishes its season at 10-11 with the defeat. 

Josh Kim and Advik Mareedu opened up the scoring with an 8-2 win at No. 2 doubles, which was followed by Ian Freer and Matthew Robinson earning an 8-3 win at No. 1. Warren Pham and Anirudh Reddy finished off the sweep with an 8-5 win at No. 3. 

Pham then was the first to finish in singles, picking up a 6-1, 6-2 win at No. 6. Freer capped off the match with a 6-3, 6-0 win at No. 2 singles, while Mareedu, Robinson, Anirudh Gupta and Tarm Rojanasoonthon were all up a set when the match was halted, just 1:42 after it began. 

A win over Redlands tomorrow would send CMS on to nationals for the 12th straight season. The last time it didn't make it was when it fell to UC Santa Cruz in the 2009 NCAA Regional Finals. The Stags battled to a tough 6-3 win over the Bulldogs during the regular season, but were able to pick up a quick 5-0 win last weekend in the SCIAC finals.  

#1 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (5) vs. UC Santa Cruz (0)
May 10, 2024 at Claremont, CA. (Biszantz Family Tennis Center) NCAA Tournament 2nd Round

1. Ian Freer/Matthew Robinson (CMS) def. Ryan Lam/Benjamin Wang (UCSC) 8-3
2. Josh Kim/Advik Mareedu (CMS) def. Andrew Tjoa/Adam Hidas (UCSC) 8-2
3. Warren Pham/Anirudh Reddy (CMS) def. Praneet Varade/Radin Sadeghi (UCSC) 8-5

1. Advik Mareedu (CMS) vs. Andrew Tjoa (UCSC) 6-4, 3-1, DNF
2. Ian Freer (CMS) def. Praneet Varade (UCSC) 6-3, 6-0
3. Matthew Robinson (CMS) vs. Radin Sadeghi (UCSC) 6-2, 2-1, DNF
4. Anirudh Gupta (CMS) vs. Benjamin Wang (UCSC) 6-4, 2-2, DNF
5. Tarm Rojanasoonthon (CMS) vs. Ryan Lam (UCSC) 6-2, 1-4, DNF
6. Warren Pham (CMS) def. Hari Raghavan (UCSC) 6-1, 6-2

Order of completion
Doubles: 2, 1, 3
Singles: 6, 2