Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Josh Kim won at No. 3 doubles and was up a set at No. 6 singles against defending NCAA Champs Case Western on Sunday.
Josh Kim won at No. 3 doubles and was up a set at No. 6 singles against defending NCAA Champs Case Western on Sunday.

CMS Men's Tennis Falls to Defending National Champion Case Western at ITA Indoors

NICHOLASVILLE, Ky. - The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's team dropped a 4-0 decision to defending national champion Case Western to finish fourth at the ITA Indoor Nationals on Sunday morning.

The match was played by Division I rules, with doubles counting as one point, and was halted at the clinch for the final travel day.

The Stags picked up a win at No. 3 doubles, with Josh Kim and Tarm Rojanasoonthon taking a 6-4 decision, but Case Western won at No. 1 and No. 2 to earn the doubles point. Case Western also got straight set wins at No. 3, No. 4 and No. 5 singles to earn victory in a rematch of last year's semifinals.

Ian Freer held a match point at deuce at 6-2, 5-2 at No. 2 singles when the dual match was clinched on Court 5. Freer finished the tournament with a win, a loss, and an unfinished match at the second singles position, but was the Stags' most consistent performer. Joshua Kim, inserted in the No. 6 singles position for the CWRU match, led 6-2, 4-5 in his only singles action of the tournament when play was stopped. Kim and Rojanasoonthon provided the only doubles wins for the Stags in three tournament matches, winning against both Emory and CWRU.

CMS will be back in action at home on Saturday, March 9 when it hosts Redlands in its SCIAC opener at 11 a.m., followed by a non-conference match against Kenyon at 5 p.m.

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (0) vs. Case Western (4)
February 25, 2024 at D3 ITA National Team Indoors 3rd Place Match - Nicholasville, KY. (Top Seed Tennis Club)

1. Anmay Devaraj / Sahil Dayal (CWRU) def. Ian Freer/Matthew Robinson (CMS) 6-4
2. Vishwa Aduru / Diego Maza (CWRU) def. Advik Mareedu/Warren Pham (CMS) 6-2
3. Josh Kim/Tarm Rojanasoonthon (CMS) def. Michael Sutanto / Ansh Shah (CWRU) 6-4

1. Vishwa Aduru (CWRU) vs. Advik Mareedu (CMS) 6-4, 4-3 DNF
2. Ian Freer (CMS) vs. Michael Sutanto (CWRU) 6-2, 5-3 DNF
3. Ajay Mahenthiran (CWRU) def. Matthew Robinson (CMS) 6-2, 6-2
4. Casey Hishinuma (CWRU) def. Warren Pham (CMS) 6-4, 6-2
5. Diego Maza (CWRU) def. Anirudh Gupta (CMS) 6-2, 6-3
6. Josh Kim (CMS) def. Anmay Devaraj (CWRU) 6-2, 4-5 DNF

Order of completion
Doubles: 2, 3, 1
Singles: 3, 4, 5