Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Inducted at CMS

Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Inducted at CMS

Photos | Full Ceremony Video

CLAREMONT, Calif. – Four new members were inducted into the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Athletics Alumni Association Hall of Fame at the 2018 Hall of Fame Banquet and induction ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 10. The ceremony was held at Claremont McKenna College's Marian Miner Cook Athenaeum, marking the 28th Hall of Fame induction class at CMS.

The Class of 2018 includes Sarah DeGraw (SC '02, Track & Field), Heather Schroder (CMC '96, Basketball and Track & Field), Kurt Hocker (CMC '88, Track & Field and Basketball) and Bob Hayes (CMC '71, Football, Basketball, and Baseball). Hocker was inducted posthumously. Long-time CMS cross country and track & field head coach John Goldhammer was voted in as well over the summer, but will be recognized at the 2019 Hall of Fame Banquet because he was out of state for cross country regionals in Walla Walla, Wash.

With this year's class now officially inducted, CMS now has 129 members in its Hall of Fame.

Sarah DeGraw
Track & Field (1999-2002)

As a two-time All-American in the hammer throw, DeGraw established herself at the time as the best women's thrower in CMS history. At the NCAA Championships, in 2000 she placed fourth in the hammer and in 2002 she placed eighth. In SCIAC competition, she won five individual conference championships, three of which were in the hammer and two were in the shot put. The Athenas won the SCIAC Championships four times and did not lose a dual meet during DeGraw's career. In each of her four seasons, she placed in the top-6 at the SCIAC Championships in the shot put, discus throw, and hammer throw. Scripps College selected DeGraw as its Athlete of the Year three times (2000, 2001, 2002). In 2002 when DeGraw graduated after being a four-year letter winner, she held CMS records in the shot put and hammer throw. 

Bob Hayes
Football (1967-1970), Basketball (1968-69), and Baseball (1969-71)

Over the course of his career as a Stag, Hayes played for three of CMS' all-time great coaches in John Zinda (football), Ted Ducey (basketball), and Bill Arce (baseball). On the football field, Hayes starred in the defensive backfield where he was a first team All-SCIAC selection in 1970. Twice he was selected to the All-SCIAC second team (1967, 1969). The 1970 team that he captained won the program's first SCIAC championship, and ranked 11th in NAIA Division II. Hayes also punted for four seasons, and was the team's second leading rusher in 1967. In 1971, Hayes was the co-recipient of the Bill Dickinson Award with his brother Greg.

Kurt Hocker
Basketball (1985-87) and Track & Field (1987-88)

Hocker was a two-year member of the Stag track & field and basketball teams. He was known for his ability to inspire his teammates. In track, he was an All-American in 1988 as a member of the CMS record-setting 4x400 relay team that placed second at Nationals. Also in 1988 he earned All-America status in the 800 meters, was the SCIAC champion in the 400 meters, and served as the team captain. In 1987, the 4x400 team placed 11th at Nationals. Kurt passed away in October, 2017.

Heather Schroder
Basketball and Track & Field (1993-95)

Known as an excellent all-around athlete, Schroder starred in basketball and track & field for the Athenas for two seasons after transferring to CMC. As a senior in 1995, she was selected as the CMC Female Athlete of the Year. On the hardwood, Schroder was a two-time first team All-SCIAC selection and Team MVP. She helped lead the Athenas to the 1993-94 SCIAC championship. In track & field, Schroder won the SCIAC championship in the javelin in 1995. She qualified for the NCAA Championships in the 800 meters in 1994, and the heptathlon in 1995. Schroder set the program record in the heptathlon, and made the CMS top-10 in eight other events.

John Goldhammer
CMS Cross Country and Track & Field Coach (1984 – present) - to be honored in 2019

Coach Goldhammer transformed the CMS cross country and track & field programs, and developed them into conference, regional, and national powers. CMS teams have won an unprecedented 71 SCIAC Championships with Goldhammer as the head coach and he coached over 1,200 CMS student-athletes. Goldhammer has been chosen as the West Region Coach of the Year 16 times in cross country and 15 times in track & field. CMS Cross Country has won 41 SCIAC titles under his guidance. The Athenas have won 25 SCIAC cross country championships and the Stags have won 16 conference championships since Coach Goldhammer took over the program. At Regionals, the Athenas have placed first 11 times while the Stags have won five regional championships. In 2012, Coach Goldhammer led the Athenas to the best season in program history with a third place finish at the NCAA Division III Championships. The Stags' best showing at the NCAA Championships came in 2016 when they finished fifth. In track & field, Coach Goldhammer led the program from 1984-2010, and he has continued to coach the track & field distance runners since 2010. The Stags won 19-straight SCIAC Track & Field titles with Coach Goldhammer as its head coach, and the Athenas won 11 conference championships. He coached 63 All-Americans and six individual national champions for the Stags along with 50 All-Americans and two individual national champions for the Athenas. Goldhammer coached numerous CMS Hall of Famers including the three track & field athletes being inducted in 2018. Another notable accomplishment was he led CMS' bid efforts for the 2012 NCAA Division III Track & Field Championships, and was the meet director when CMS hosted the event marking the first time the NCAA D-III Track & Field Championships were held west of Iowa.