Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
CMS seniors jump in the pool following their Senior Day ceremony (photo by Ruby Marks)
CMS seniors jump in the pool following their Senior Day ceremony (photo by Ruby Marks)

Athenas Swim and Dive wins All 16 Events in Senior Day Win over Redlands

CLAREMONT, Calif. - The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's swimming and diving team honored its five seniors prior to the meet, and then celebrated by winning all 16 events in a dominant 246-36 win over Redlands on Saturday at Axelrood Pool.

Lexi Lee, Lexi Punishill, Caroline Sundal, Alex Towers and Allyson Yao were honored prior to their final meet at Axelrood Pool as the members of the Class of 2024. Annika Sharma (100 back, 100 free), Mackenzie Mayfield (200 breast, 200 IM) and Madeleine Kan (50 free, 100 fly) were dual individual winners for CMS.

Meilan Uyeno opened the meet with a win in the three-meter dive with 266.20 points, edging Alexis Romero with 256.75. 

The first swimming event saw CMS dominate the 200-yard medley relay with the top five finishing teams, as Sharma, Mayfield, Sun Young Byun and Ally Rudolph took first in 1:47.72, followed by Florence Lin, Milan Manfredi, Allison Nguyen and Annette Chang in second in 1:48.98. 

Revere Schmidt then won the first individual race by taking the 1000 free in 10:35.71, followed by Katy Shaw in second in 10:42.34 and Corley Smith in third. Nguyen followed with a 200 free win in 1:57.84, with Kyra Burns second and Taylor Otey third. 

Sharma earned the 100 back in 59.63, followed by Mayfield, Anna Werts, Sammy Ennis and Mary Grace Martin in second through fifth. Prawira edged out Yao and Sundal in the 100 breast in 1:07.26, Byun took the 200 fly in 2:07.20 with Debbie Wells second, and Kan closed out the first session with a 50 free win in 24.68, followed by Rudolph in second. 

Romero took first in the one-meter dive during the intermission with 310.75, just edging out Uyeno in second with 308.50 and Izzy Doud in third with 297.20.  

Sharma opened the second swim session with a win in the 100 free in 53.87, with Lee second and Rudolph third. The 200 back saw Werts earn the win in 2:09.60, followed by Wells and Ennis. Mayfield earned the 200 breast win in 2:23.37, with Prawira second in 2:25.01. 

Corley Smith then came through with a first-place finish in the 500 free with a 5:09.00 with Schmidt second and Nguyen third. Kan won the 100 fly in 58.71, with Otey second in 1:01.93, and Mayfield took the final individual event in the 200 IM with a 2:06.81, followed by Byun and Schmidt. 

CMS capped off the meet and the 16-event sweep with a 200-yard freestyle relay win from Sharma, Nguyen, Kan and Chang in 1:38.24. 

CMS will be back in action next week when it travels to compete in the UC Santa Barbara Invitational.