Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The CMS senior plunge into the water after the Senior Day ceremony (photo by Ruby Marks)
The CMS senior plunge into the water after the Senior Day ceremony (photo by Ruby Marks)

Stags Swim and Dive Celebrates Senior Day with Sweep of Redlands

CLAREMONT, Calif. - The Claremont-Mudd-Scripps men's swimming and diving team honored its six seniors prior to the meet and then swept all 16 events as it took a 241-51 win over Redlands on Saturday at Axelrood Pool.

Frank Applebaum (50 free, 100 fly) and Anderson Breazeale (200 back) earned individual wins on their Senior Day. Thayer Breazeale, Chris Ranlett, Ben Smith (diver), and Ben J. Smith (former swimmer, current manager) were also honored prior to the meet. 

Cyrus Gaylord (one-meter dive, three-meter dive), Lucas Lang (1000 free, 500 free) and Spencer Merodio (200 free, 200 IM) joined Applebaum was multiple individual event winners for the Stags. 

Gaylord opened the meet with a one-meter dive win, and then added a three-meter dive win later in the meet as well. He had 309.35 points to edge Jack Griffith by 6.5 points in the one-meter, with Luke Vlases third. In the three-meter, he finished with 406.65 points, with Griffith second with 384.90 points and Ethan Sattley third. 

The first swimming event saw CMS earn the top three spots in the 200-yard medley relay, with Dylan Krueger, Grant Stucky, Weston Crewe and Theo Johnson taking first in 1:34.20. 

Lucas Lang then won the first of his two distance events, taking the 1000 free with a time of 9:43.73, as Alex Johnson came in second. Lang later won the 500 free in 4:38.23, as Cole Sumino came in second and Drew Schmidt third.

Spencer Merodio led a 1-2-3-4 finish in the 200 free with a 1:42.75, followed by Sumino and Henrik Barck. He later took the 200 IM in another 1-2-3-4 finish in 1:56.70, followed by Steven Tran, Adam VanLuvanee and Tyler Headley

Jeremy Tan (50.80) won the 100 back, followed by Krueger, Anderson Breazeale and Korin Aldam-Tajima. Evan Deedy then took the 100 breast in 58.70, with Steven Tran second in 59.42. VanLuvanee took the 200 fly in 1:55.09, with Thayer Breazeale in second and Schmidt in third. Applebaum closed out the first session with a 50 free win in 21.31, with Headley in second. 

After an intermission for the second diving events, when Gaylord completed his sweep, Krueger won the the 100 free in 47.08, edging out Merodio in 47.23. Anderson Breazeale took the 200 back in 1:52.30 for his Senior Day win, followed by Barck, Tan and Aldam-Tajima. Tran then earned a 200-yard breaststroke win in 2:06.19 with Alex Jiang in second. 

Applebaum's 100 fly win came in 49.55 for his second Senior Day victory, and Tan, Young Kwon, Crewe and Krueger finished off the win with a 200-yard freestyle victory in 1:24.54. 

CMS will be back in action next weekend when it travels to compete in the UC Santa Barbara Invitational on Saturday.